So, I was pulled over this morning…

19 04 2010

On our way to buy a couple newspapers and enjoy some breakfast, Andrew and I were pulled over by one of Leon County’s finest. I was driving 38 mph in a 45 mph so you can imagine my surprise when the blue lights appeared in my rear view. We pulled over in a parking lot, placed the van in park, and took off my seatbelt (I have no idea what compelled me to do that).

As it turned out, I was driving at a safe speed except for the fact that it was 8:00 AM and I was driving through a school zone. Just like that, my 7 mph cushion became an 18 mph indictment! I handed him most of my required paperwork (more on that in another blog)  and waited for the verdict.

He walked back to my car and was holding the ominous clipboard (busted), but the first thing he said was “so, you’ve  never had a ticket before” (hope…and a little pride), followed by “so I am only going to write this one for going 26 in a 20.” (and the no-hitter is lost on a bloop single!)

I’ll share more about this incident later but the first thing that came to mind was, “what if I had previously received tickets?” I could have been calling Jeni from jail (18 mph over the limit, no seat belt, no registration).

I am sure glad that God doesn’t work that way. The thought of standing before God after I die and Him investigating my life to determine what I deserve is horrifying. I don’t know about you, but I have received my share of “tickets” in life. If my eternal destination were based on my record I’m afraid the Tallahassee humidity would seem refreshing by comparison.

This is one of the great truths of the gospel; that Jesus work on the cross was merciful and gracious. Not only did he absorb my punishment, He gave me His righteousness! Had I been pulled over by Jesus this morning, I would have been guilty on all accounts and presented an astronomical ticket. He then would have opened his wallet and written me a check for the full amount and then gone into His computer and erased the infraction along with all of my priors!

This is why I’m thankful, this is why I do what I do. The great exchange of a righteous Jesus for a guilty humanity is the greatest moment in history!

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 04 2010
BPH

So many things that I could write here. Maybe a comment about how you can turn a traffic ticket into a teaching moment, maybe a futile attempt to rationalize speeding, maybe turning you ticket into “business” deduction.

Seriously, that is one of the tings I enjoy about you; ability to turn almost anything into a teaching moment.

Loved the picture on the front page of the Sports section today. Looks like y’all both had a great time. Tell Jeni thanks for the pictures on facebook, good times for all.

19 04 2010
ryansprague85

You win an invisible prize for being the first person to ever comment on one of my posts!




